Q-SUN Xe-3 Xenon Test Chamber

多功能、平面式、三灯管测试仪。 容量:51个样本,每个尺寸为51 x 102mm,平面或三维。
Click to Enlarge Image
 
多功能、平面式、三灯管测试仪。 容量:51个样本,每个尺寸为51 x 102mm,平面或三维。 氙灯图解 HDS 氙气箱 氙气测试样品 氙气老化测试
Click to Switch Image

Q-SUN Xe-3氙灯试验箱能再现全光谱太阳光和雨水造成的损害。在几天或几周之内,Q-SUN试验箱就能够再现数月或数年户外老化造成的损害。

Q-SUN Xe-3试验箱是一款全功能的光稳定性、色牢度及耐光性试验箱,而且价格非常合理。它采用三根独立的氙灯灯管。Q-SUN Xe-3试验箱的滑出式样品托架尺寸为451mm x 718mm,在曝晒立体零件或大部件时非常方便。所有的Xe - 3试验箱都提供湿度控制功能,还可以选配喷淋、双喷淋、背喷及低温功能。

Q-SUN Xe-3是唯一拥有双喷淋功能的氙弧试验箱。这个功能可以将第二种液体(如酸雨或肥皂液)喷淋到测试样品上。

Q-SUN Xe-3是最可靠、最易用、最被广泛认可的全尺寸氙灯试验箱。


更真实的氙灯
Q-SUN Xe-3试验箱的氙弧灯管提供了最真实的全光谱太阳光, 还可以同时控制黑板温度和箱内空气温度。氙弧试验箱中接近水平的样品安装和可选的喷淋和双喷提供了最真实的潮湿模拟。 Xe-3 试验箱也是唯一能提供双喷选项的氙灯试验箱,可以喷淋第二种液体(如 酸雨) 到测试样品上。 还可选择制冷机低温应用。

方便易用
Q-SUN Xe-3 氙灯试验箱安装方便(要求有适当的通风)。  易于使用和几乎免维护。  独特的滑出托盘设计  样品安装和评估快速且方便。  Xe-3试验箱是全自动的,可连续运行,即全天候不间断的运行。 其他功能包括:

  • 易于操作的用户界面,五种可选语言包括英语、法语、西班牙语、意大利语或德语。
  • 内置以太网连接,方便数据记录
  • 机台的自我诊断警告和提醒服务
  • 获得专利的AUTOCAL校准系统使校准变得快速且方便
 
快速得出结果
产品曝露在户外,阳光直接照射的最大光强度每天只有几小时。  Q-SUN Xe-3试验箱可以让测试样品受到相当于 夏天正午太阳光 的照射,每天24小时,天天如此。 因此,样品可快速老化。
 
可负担得起的
Q-SUN Xe-3试验箱以低购买价格、低灯管价格和低运行成本创造了突破性的高性价比。 现在,即使是最小的实验室也可以负担得起进行氙弧测试。
 
型号
(也可参见特点标签)
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-H:全光谱太阳光,带湿度控制
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HS:全光谱太阳光,带湿度控制和喷淋
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HDS:全光谱太阳光,带湿度控制和双喷淋
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HBS: 全光谱太阳光,带湿度控制和背喷
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HC:全光谱太阳光,带湿度控制和制冷机
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HSC:全光谱太阳光,带湿度控制、喷淋和制冷机

参见 LX-5046 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Specifications或特点标签了解比对信息。

全光谱氙气灯管
氙弧灯管 最真实地再现了全光谱自然阳光。 Q-Lab的灯管为空冷型(非水冷型),这使其更经济、更高效、更易维护。灯管寿命为1500小时,每台Xe-3使用3根灯管。

滤光片
选择滤光片可模拟各种环境包括直射阳光及阳光透过玻璃窗射入。 Q-Lab滤光片的性能不会随着使用时间的增加而下降, 因此,正常运作下不需要更换滤光片。  唯一例外的是Window-IR滤光片,其需要定期更换。  所有型号的Q-SUN Xe-3每台都使用三块滤光片。  参见LX-5060 - Q-SUN过滤片的选择

温度监测 与控制
温度控制是非常重要的,因为它影响着老化速率。Q-SUN Xe-3 测试仪使用黑板温度传感器精确控制样品曝晒温度。  温度可设定在42ºC 和120ºC之间的任意一点,取决于传感器的类型、辐照强度、滤光片类型、灯管的使用时间和周围环境的温度。 可选的制冷机、可同时控制的黑板和箱内空气温度,使样品的温度得到最大程度的控制。 参见 LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2及Xe-3 手册

万能式样品安装
Xe-3的平面样品安装托盘可以同时容纳不同形状和大小的样品,包括三维零件。 还有各种样品支架供选择。Xe-3样品托盘大小为451mm x 718mm,最多可以放置 55个51mm x 102mm大小的样品。  参见我们的 样品安装页面, LX-5080-SM - Q-SUN Xe-1及& Xe-3 样品安装 或配件的更多信息。

SOLAR EYE太阳眼辐照度控制
SOLAR EYE太阳眼辐照度控制系统可不间断地监测和控制灯光的输出量,  这保证了精确的曝晒和可重复的测试结果。辐照度可控制在340nm、 420nm或TUV (总UV)。 参见LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 及 Xe-3 手册

湿度控制
相对湿度(RH)控制是Q-SUN Xe-3机型的标准配备。 允许用户同时控制、监测和显示相对湿度、黑板温度和箱内空气温度。  请注意,带湿度控制的Xe-3的正常运行时必须用净化水。   参见 LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2及 Xe-3 手册

水喷淋选项 (型号:Xe-3-HS、 Xe-3-DS、 Xe-3-BS、 Xe-3-HSC)
Xe-3测试仪通过纯净水喷淋选项模拟室外雨水的侵袭。两个喷嘴位于箱的顶部。喷淋可设定在黑暗或有光的循环周期中进行。 请注意,带水喷淋的Xe-3的正常运行必须用净化水。  参见LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2及 Xe-3 手册

背喷选项 (型号Xe-3-BS)
背喷 可在Xe-3测试箱中使用,同时也是一些SAE测试标准所要求的; 它可将水同时喷洒在样品的正面和背面。请注意,带背喷的Xe-3的正常运行必须用净化水。

双喷淋选项 (型号Xe-3-DS)
双喷淋 可在Xe-3试验箱中使用。可将第二种液体(如酸雨或肥皂液)喷到测试样品上。大的外部水池、离心泵和过滤器将连接到便携式车旁边的Xe-3试验箱上。  参见 LX-5025a - 汽车酸蚀

用于低温测试的制冷机选项 (型号Xe-3-HSC)
一些户内产品,如药品和化妆品,必须用低曝晒温度以防止其发生非自然老化。测试这样的热敏感材料时,可使用带制冷机的Xe-3测试箱,满足对低温的要求。  参见 LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2及 Xe-3 手册。  因带有制冷机,Q-SUN Xe-3测试仪可以在31℃-120℃和50%的相对湿度下运行,这取决于传感器的类型、辐照强度、滤光片类型、灯管的使用时间以及周围环境的温度和湿度。Xe-3制冷机支持全尺寸Xe-3测试仪,并配备轮子以方便移位。

控制 及可选软件
Q-SUN Xe-3 控制器功能强大且易于使用,支持五种可选语言编程(英语、法语、西班牙语、意大利语、德语),并且包括完整的自检查错功能。有需要的话,它也能显示简单的警告信息、常规服务提醒或执行安全关机。

质 量体系需要测试条件的证明文档,因此每个Q-SUN试验机都配有以太网连接。可选的“虚拟带状”PC软件允许用户自动记录曝露条件和从Q-SUN试验机直 接传输数据到基于Windows系数的计算机。 数据也可以通过电子邮件直接发送到Q-Lab技术支持台,以寻求专家对故障进行诊断和排除。

太阳光模拟
Q-SUN Xe-3测试仪的氙弧灯管最逼真地再现了全光谱太阳光,包括紫外线、可见光和红外线。对于许多材料来说,必须进行全光谱曝晒,以提供精确的模拟,尤其是做颜色变化和日晒色牢度测试时。  参见 LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2及 Xe-3手册.

长效灯管
Q-SUN Xe-3使用3根风冷式氙弧灯管以显著减少比水冷式灯管设备还贵的运营和维修费用。  灯管的一般寿命为1500小时。

更换Xe-3灯管即简单又容易– 就在测试仪前部,伸手可得。  更换时用户只需要断开一个简单的插件连接,松开两个紧定螺钉,并取下灯管外罩即可。  参见 LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2及 Xe-3手册

选择滤光片,模拟各种环境
氙灯必须经过适当的过滤,以使每个特定的应用得到合适的频谱。  光谱的差异可能会影响速度和退化的类型。  三类滤光片可用来模拟各种服务环境,如下所示。  应用或测试方法决定了应使用的滤光片。  参见LU-8054a - QUV、Q-SUN和夏日中午太阳光的SPD.

日光过滤片
日光过滤片用来模拟直接的夏日中午太阳光.  对于大多数应用,它们提供最好的与自然曝晒的相关性。  通常用于室外的材料如屋顶或外墙涂料等,应使用日光过滤片进行测试。  Q-SUN Xe-3试验箱配有三种不同类型的日光滤光片。  Daylight-F, Daylight-Q和Daylight-B/B.

窗玻璃过滤片

窗玻璃过滤片产生的光谱相当于透过窗玻璃的太阳光。  该频谱还可以模拟其他室内光,如典型的商业或办公环境中刺眼的光线。  窗玻璃过滤片可用于室内材料,如印刷材料和纺织品。  Q-SUN Xe-3测试箱配有四种不同类型的窗玻璃过滤片。: Window-Q、Window-B/SL, Window-SF-5和Window-IR.

紫外线延展过滤片

紫外线延展过滤片可产生过量的紫外线,低于正常减少的太阳光。  它们被用来产生更快或更精确的测试结果。  紫外线延展过滤片指定用于一些汽车测试方法,有时也用于航空航天应用。这种类型最常见的Q-SUN滤光片是延展的UV-Q/B。

Q-SUN Xe-3试验箱’的长寿命滤光片特别耐用,能无限期地保证所需的光谱。  经过多年的使用,Q-SUN滤光片仍不会显示任何老化的迹象。  参见LX-5060 - Q-SUN滤光片的选择以了解更多有关滤光片的详细内容, 但上面信息 可以作为有用的指南。

轻易校准,保证精度
QUN Xe-3 黑板温度传感器需要由用户定期进行校准 。以确保结果准确、一致。

使用CT202温度计校准Xe-3黑板温度传感器很简单,只需要几分钟。  请注意,CT202配有非绝缘黑板(CT202/BP)传感器或绝缘黑色面板(CT202/IBP)传感器。  传感器类型必须与Xe-3测试仪实际使用的传感器类型相符。  由于Xe-3测试仪的低成本,相对湿度/室内空气温度 传感器应每年更换一次,且不能进行重新校准。

CT202温度计需每年一次返回到Q-LAB进行重新校准,所需费用很少。  参见LW-6008 - Recalibration Return Procedure.  Q-Lab的校准实验室 已通过美国实验室认证协会 (A2LA - Ohio Certificate Number 2382-01, China Certificate Number 2383-02, 和 England Certificate Number 2383-03) ISO 17025认证。校准起源于美国国家标准和技术研究院(NIST)。

轻易校准,保证精度
Q-SUN Xe-3 SOLAR EYE 辐照度传感器需要由用户定期进行校准,以确保结果准确、一致。

使用CR20校准辐照度计校准Xe-3测试仪很简单,只需要几分钟。  请注意,CR20配有340nm、420nm、 或300-400nm TUV (总UV)传感器。  传感器类型必须与Xe-3测试仪实际使用的传感器和滤光片类型相符。

CR20辐照度计需每年一次返回到Q-LAB进行重新校准,所需费用很少。 参见LW-6008 - Recalibration Return Procedure.   我们的校准实验室已通过美国实验室认证协会 ISO 17025认证。  校准起源于美国国家标准和技术研究院(NIST)。

多用途样品安装
Q-SUN Xe-3测试仪的平板样品安装托盘给多种尺寸、多种形状的样本测试提供了灵活性。  样品支架有多种尺寸可用,以适应传统的平面样品,如板和块;  三维的样品,如瓶子、试管、化妆品、高尔夫球等,可直接放置到样品托盘上,或放在特殊的支架上。可调高度的托架可以装载三维零件,因此部件的顶部应与正常的样本托盘高度等高。

接近水平的样品托盘确保水不会快速从样品上流失,以便最佳再现户外测试结果。  它对测试在高温下流动的材料也有用。

请登录我们的 样本安装页面以了解更多信息,还可以查看示例或查询以下部件号:

  • X-10115-X  Q-SUN平板样品支架,每个夹具可夹2个样本
  • X-10114-K Q-SUN Xe-3样品支架,26件套
  • X-10183      Q-SUN窄瓶支架,每个夹具尺寸为51 x 229mm,带一个17 x 203mm插槽
  • X-10184     Q-SUN宽瓶支架,每个夹具尺寸为51 x 229mm,带一个19 x 203mm插槽
  • X-10255-X  Q-SUN纺织品支架,每个夹具尺寸为51 x 102mm,可夹2个样本
  • X-10264-K  Q-SUN纺织面罩,纸制面罩夹具尺寸为51 x102mm,100件套
  • X-10260-K  Q-SUN测试版支架套件,尺寸为76 x 152mm,每个夹具可夹2件平面样本,10件套
  • X-10261-K  Q-SUN测试版支架套件,尺寸为102 x 152mm,每个夹具可夹2件平面样本,8件套
  • X-10262-K  Q-SUN测试版支架套件,尺寸为102 x 203mm,每个夹具可夹2件平面样本,6件套
  • X-10476-K  Q-SUN 3D部件支架套件, 尺寸为203 x 203mm,高度可调, 5件套
  • X-10609-K  Q-SUN纺织品样本支架套件,带1/3和& 2/3面罩,25件套

排水泵
排水泵可用于Q-SUN Xe-3。  排水前,如果排水管必须要抬高超过地面100毫米以上,那么就要使用排水泵。  可查询以下部件号:
  • X-6955-K    Q-SUN排水泵, 120V
  • X-6956-K    Q-SUN 排水泵, 230V

进水泵
Q-Lab为没有足够水压的Xe-3提供了一个进水泵,  泵会提高过低水压或抽取来自水库的水,  水泵自动运行,按需给Xe-3测试仪供水。

纯水净化系统
为了显著降低Q-SUN Xe-3氙灯试验箱可选择的水喷淋系统的运行成本,Q-Lab提供了可选的纯水净化系统可让重复使用喷淋水,之前这些会直接排入下水道。

技术公告

技术文献

产品手册

规格公告

操作手册

 

产品

联系我们

  1.  

Q-Lab 电话号码

美国:+1-440-835-8700
佛罗里达及亚利桑那企业管理:+1-305-245-5600
英国/欧洲:+44-1204-861616
德国:+49-681-857470
中国:+86-21-5879-7970

 
View Full Site

Products

Contact Us

  1.  

Q-Lab Phone Numbers

USA: +1-440-835-8700
Florida & Arizona Test Services: +1-305-245-5600
UK/Europe: +44-1204-861616
Germany: +49-681-857470
China: +86-21-5879-7970

Xenon Arc Lamp
Click to Enlarge Image
 
Xenon Arc Lamp Xenon Test Chamber Interior Schematic HDS Xenon Chambers Xenon Testing Specimens Xenon Weathering Test
Click to Switch Image

Q-SUN Xe-3 Xenon Test Chamber

The Q-SUN Xe-3 xenon arc chamber reproduces the damage caused by full-spectrum sunlight and rain. In a few days or weeks, the Q-SUN tester can reproduce the damage that occurs over months or years outdoors.

The Q-SUN Xe-3 tester is a full-featured lightfastness, colorfastness, and photostability chamber at a breakthrough price. It utilizes three separate xenon lamps for a large capacity. The Q-SUN Xe-3 tester’s slide out specimen tray is 451mm x 718mm and is useful for exposing large, three-dimensional parts or components. The Xe-3 tester offers standard humidity control, and optional spray, back spray and chiller features.

The Q-SUN Xe-3 is the only xenon arc tester that also has an optional dual spray capability. This allows for a second liquid such as acid rain or soap solutions, to be sprayed onto test specimens.

The Q-SUN Xe-3 is the simplest, most reliable, and easiest to use full-sized xenon arc chamber available.


A More Realistic Xenon
The Q-SUN Xe-3 tester’s xenon arc lamps provide the best match to the full spectrum of sunlight.  Near-horizontal specimen mounting and optional water and back spray provide the most realistic moisture simulation available in a xenon arc tester.  The Xe-3 tester also is the only xenon test chamber to offer a dual spray option, allowing a second liquid (such as acid rain) to be sprayed onto test specimens.  An optional chiller for low temperature applications also allows for simultaneous control of both black panel and chamber air temperature.

Easy To Use
The Q-SUN Xe-3 xenon test chamber is easy to install (proper ventilation required).  It is easy to use and practically maintenance-free.  Specimen mounting and evaluation is fast and easy with the unique slide-out specimen tray.  The Xe-3 tester is completely automated and can operate continuously, 24 hours per day, 7 days per week.  Other features include:

  • Remarkably simple user interface in five user-selectable languages: English, French, Spanish, Italian or German
  • Built-in Ethernet connection for data logging
  • Comprehensive self-diagnostic warnings and service reminders
  • Quick and easy calibration with patented AUTOCAL system
 
Fast Results
A product exposed outdoors to direct sunlight experiences maximum light intensity for only a few hours each day.  The Q-SUN Xe-3 chamber can subject test specimens to the equivalent of noon summer sunlight for 24 hours a day, every day.  Consequently, specimen degradation can be highly accelerated.
 
Affordable
The Q-SUN Xe-3 tester’s low purchase price, low lamp prices and low operating costs create a breakthrough in the price/performance equation.  Now even the smallest lab can afford xenon arc testing.
 
Models
(see also Features Tab)
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-H: full-spectrum sunlight with humidity control
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HS: full-spectrum sunlight with humidity control and spray
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HDS: full-spectrum sunlight with humidity control and dual spray
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HBS: full-spectrum sunlight with humidity control and back spray
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HC: full-spectrum sunlight with humidity control and chiller
  • Q-SUN Xe-3-HSC: full-spectrum sunlight with humidity control, spray and chiller

See LX-5046 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Specifications or the Features Tab for comparative information.

Full Spectrum Xenon Lamps
Xenon arc lamps give the best reproduction of full spectrum natural sunlight.  Q-Lab's lamps are air-cooled (not water-cooled), which makes them more economical, highly efficient and very low maintenance. Lamps last for 1500 hours and the Xe-3 uses three lamps per machine.

Optical Filters
A choice of optical filters is available to simulate a variety of service environments including direct sunlight and sunlight through window glass.  The performance of Q-Lab's filters not decline with age; therefore, filters do not need to be replaced under normal operation.  The only exception to this is the Window-IR filter, which requires regular replacement.  All Q-SUN Xe-3 models use three optical filters per machine.  See LX-5060 - A Choice of Filters for Q-SUN.

Temperature Monitoring & Control
Control of temperature is important because it influences the rate of degradation. Specimen exposure temperature is precisely controlled in the Q-SUN Xe-3 tester using a black panel temperature sensor.  The temperature can be set at any point between 42ºC and 120ºC, depending upon: whether the sensor is insulated or uninsulated, irradiance level, filter type, lamp age and ambient room temperature.  With an optional chiller, both black panel and chamber air temperature can be simultaneously controlled, giving the ultimate control of specimen temperature.  See LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Brochure.

Versatile Specimen Mounting
The flat specimen mounting tray in the Xe-3 accommodates different shapes and sizes of specimens, including three-dimensional parts.  A variety of specimen holders are available. The Xe-3 mounting tray is 451mm x 718mm and holds up to 55 specimens @ 51mm x 102mm each.  See our specimen mounting page, LX-5080-SM - Q-SUN Xe-1 & Xe-3 Specimen Mounting or Accessories Tab for more information.

SOLAR EYE Irradiance Control
The SOLAR EYE irradiance control system constantly monitors and controls lamp output.  This assures precise light exposure and maximizes reproducibility of test results. Irradiance control is available at 340nm, 420nm or TUV (Total UV).  See LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Brochure.

Humidity Control
Relative humidity (RH) control is standard in the Q-SUN Xe-3 model.  It allows the user to simultaneously control, monitor, and display RH, black panel temperature, and chamber air temperature.  Note that purified water is required for proper operation of the Xe-3 with humidity control.  See LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Brochure.

Optional Water Spray (Models Xe-3-HS, Xe-3-DS, Xe-3-BS, Xe-3-HSC)
Outdoor moisture attack is simulated via a pure water spray option in the Xe-3 tester. Two spray nozzles are located in the top of the chamber. Spray can be programmed to operate during either the dark or light cycle.  Note that purified water is required for proper operation of the Xe-3 with water spray.  See LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Brochure.

Optional Back Spray (Model Xe-3-BS)
Back spray is available for the Xe-3 tester and is required by some SAE test methods; it allows water to be sprayed on both the front and back of specimens simultaneously. Note that purified water is required for proper operation of the Xe-3 with back spray.

Optional Dual Spray (Model Xe-3-DS)
Dual spray is available for the Xe-3 tester. It allows a second liquid solution, such as acid rain or soap solution, to be sprayed onto test specimens. A large external reservoir, centrifugal pump and filter are attached to a portable cart that sits next to the Xe-3 tester.  See LX-5025a - Acid Etch for Auto.

Optional Chiller for Low Temperature Applications (Model Xe-3-HSC)
For some interior products such as pharmaceuticals and cosmetics, lower exposure temperatures are necessary to prevent unnatural degradation. An optional chiller is available for the Xe-3 tester to lower temperatures when testing such heat sensitive materials.  See LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Brochure.  With a chiller, a Q-SUN Xe-3 tester can operate at 31-120ºC and 50% RH, depending upon sensor type, irradiance level, filter type, lamp age, and ambient room temperature and humidity. The Xe-3 chiller is designed to stand alongside the full-sized Xe-3 tester, and is provided with wheels for easy repositioning.

Controls & Optional Software
Designed to be both functional and easy to use, the Q-SUN Xe-3 controller can be programmed in five user-selectable languages (English, French, Spanish, Italian or German) and includes complete self-diagnostic error checking. The controller constantly monitors the status and performance of all systems. It also displays simple warning messages, routine service reminders or performs safety shutdown, as needed. 

For quality systems that require documented proof of test conditions, every Q-SUN Xe-3 tester is equipped with an Ethernet connection. Optional “Virtual Strip Chart” PC software allows the user to automatically record exposure conditions and directly transfer data from the Q-SUN tester to a Windows-based computer.  This data can also be emailed directly to Q-Lab's technical support desk for expert troubleshooting and diagnostics.

Sunlight Simulation
The Q-SUN Xe-3 tester’s xenon arc lamps produce the most realistic reproduction of full spectrum sunlight including ultraviolet, visible light and infrared radiation. For many materials, exposure to the full spectrum is necessary to provide an accurate simulation, especially when testing for color change and lightfastness.  See LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Brochure.

Long Lasting Lamps
The Q-SUN Xe-3 uses three, air-cooled xenon arc lamps to significantly reduce operating and maintenance expenses significantly over water-cooled lamp devices.  Typical lamp life is 1500 hours.

Changing the Xe-3 lamp is quick and easy – it is easily accessible from the front of the tester.  Replacement only requires the user to disconnect a simple plug connection, release two set screws, and remove the lamp housing.  See LX-5000 - Q-SUN Xe-1, Xe-2 & Xe-3 Brochure.

A Choice of Optical Filters to Simulate a Variety of Environments
Xenon light must be properly filtered to achieve the appropriate spectrum for each particular application.  Differences in spectra may affect both the speed and the type of degradation.  Three categories of filters are available to simulate a variety of service environments, shown below.  The application or test method dictates which filters should be used.  See LU-8054a - SPD for QUV, Q-SUN, and Noon Summer Sunlight.

Daylight Filters
Daylight filters are used to simulate direct, noon summer sunlight.  They provide the best correlation to natural exposures for most applications.  Materials that are typically used outdoors like roofing or exterior coatings should be tested using daylight filters.  Three different types of daylight filters are available for the Q-SUN Xe-3 tester:  Daylight - F, Daylight - Q and Daylight - B/B.

Window Glass Filters

Window glass filters produce spectra equivalent to sunlight coming through window glass.  This spectrum can also simulate other indoor lighting such as the harsh lighting found in a typical commercial or office environment.  Window glass filters are used for indoor materials such as printing materials and textiles.  Four different window glass filters are available for the Q-SUN Xe-3 tester:  Window - Q, Window - B/SL, Window - SF-5 and Window - IR.

Extended UV Filters

Extended UV filters allow excess UV, below the normal cut-on of natural sunlight.  They are used to produce faster or more severe test results.  Extended UV filters are specified in some automotive test methods and are sometimes used for aerospace applications. The most common Q-SUN filter of this type is the Extended UV - Q/B.

The Q-SUN Xe-3 tester’s long-life filters are exceptionally durable and maintain the required spectrum indefinitely.  After many years of use, Q-SUN filters have yet to show any signs of aging.  See LX-5060 - A Choice of Filters for Q-SUN for a more detailed discussion of optical filters, but the information above can be a useful guide.

Easy Calibration Assures Accuracy
The Q-SUN Xe-3 black panel temperature sensor needs to be calibrated periodically by the user.  This assures accurate and consistent results.

Calibrating the Xe-3 black panel temperature sensor is simple using the provided CT202 thermometer, and takes only a few minutes.  Note that the CT202 thermometer comes with either an uninsulated black panel (CT202/BP) or insulated black panel (CT202/IBP) sensor.  This sensor must match the type of sensor actually used in the Xe-3 tester.  The Xe-3 tester's low-cost, combination relative humidity/chamber air temperature sensor is designed to be replaced once a year and cannot be recalibrated.

The CT202 Thermometer needs to be returned to Q-Lab once per year for an inexpensive recalibration.  See LW-6008 - Recalibration Return Procedure.  Q-Lab’s calibration labs are ISO 17025 accredited by the American Association of Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA - Ohio Certificate Number 2382-01, China Certificate Number 2383-02, and England Certificate Number 2383-03).  Calibrations are traceable to the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Easy Calibration Assures Accuracy
The Q-SUN Xe-3 SOLAR EYE irradiance sensor needs to be calibrated periodically by the user to assure accurate and consistent results.

Calibrating the Xe-3 tester is simple using a CR20 calibration radiometer, and takes only a few minutes.  Note that the CR20 comes with a 340nm, 420nm, or 300-400nm TUV (Total UV) sensor.  This sensor must match the type of sensor and filter type actually used in the Xe-3 tester.

The CR20 radiometer needs to be returned to Q-Lab once per year for an inexpensive recalibration.  See LW-6008 - Recalibration Return Procedure.  Our calibration labs are ISO 17025 accredited by the American Association of Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA - Ohio Certificate Number 2382-01, China Certificate Number 2383-02, and England Certificate Number 2383-03).  Calibrations are traceable to the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

Versatile Specimen Mounting
The Q-SUN Xe-3 tester’s flat specimen mounting tray offers the flexibility to test many sizes and shapes of specimens.  Specimen holders are available in a number of sizes to accommodate traditional flat specimens, like panels and plaques.  Three-dimensional specimens such as bottles, test tubes, cosmetics, golf balls, etc. can be placed directly onto the specimen tray or in special holders.  Adjustable height stands are available to mount three-dimensional parts so that the top of the part is at the normal specimen tray height.

The near-horizontal specimen tray ensures that water doesn't quickly run off the specimens, for best reproduction of outdoor results.  It is also useful for testing materials that flow at elevated temperatures.

Please visit our specimen mounting page for more information and to see examples or inquire about the following part numbers:

  • X-10115-X  Q-SUN Flat Specimen Holder, holds 2 specimens on a single holder
  • X-10114-K  Q-SUN Xe-3 Specimen Holder Kit, set of 26
  • X-10183      Q-SUN Narrow Bottle Holder, 17 x 203mm slot on a 51 x 229mm single holder
  • X-10184      Q-SUN Wide Bottle Holder, 19 x 203mm slot on a 51 x 229mm single holder
  • X-10255-X  Q-SUN Textile Holder, holds 2 specimens 51 x 102mm on a single holder
  • X-10264-K  Q-SUN Textile Masks, paper masks for 51 x 102mm holders, set of 100
  • X-10260-K  Q-SUN Panel Holder Kit, holds 2 flat specimens 76 x 152mm on a single holder, set of 10
  • X-10261-K  Q-SUN Panel Holder Kit, holds 2 flat specimens 102 x 152mm on a single holder, set of 8
  • X-10262-K  Q-SUN Panel Holder Kit, holds 2 flat specimens 102 x 203mm on a single holder, set of 6
  • X-10476-K  Q-SUN 3D Part Holder Kit, 203 x 203mm adjustable height, set of 5
  • X-10609-K  Q-SUN Textile Specimen Holder Kit, with 1/3 & 2/3 masks, set of 25

Drain Pump
Drain pumps are available for Q-SUN Xe-3 models.  A drain pump is required if the drain tube must rise more than 100mm above the floor before reaching the drain.  Inquire about the following part numbers:

  • X-6955-K    Q-SUN Drain Pump, 120V
  • X-6956-K    Q-SUN Drain Pump, 230V

Water Inlet Pump
Q-Lab offers a water inlet pump for Xe-3 model installations that do not have sufficient water pressure.  The pump boosts low water pressure or draws water from a reservoir.  The pump operates automatically and supplies water to the Xe-3 tester on demand.

Water Repurification System
To significantly reduce the cost of running the Q-SUN Xe-3 tester’s optional water spray system, Q-Lab offers a water repurification system that reuses the water that normally would go down the drain.


Technical Bulletins

Technical Articles

Product Brochures

Specification Bulletins

Operating Manuals